OPI: Pirates of the Caribbean

May 23, 2011

Two Fridays ago, I bought the OPI: Pirates of the Caribbean sampler set, which retails for about $12.50 and contains mini bottles of (from right to left) Stranger Tides, Planks A Lot, Skull & Glossbones, and Sparrow Me the Drama.

pirates 2

This is, amusingly enough, the order in which I enjoy these colors. I bought the sampler set because A) my Ulta didn’t have Mermaid Tears and B) I wasn’t sure, seeing Stranger Tides in person, that I would love it as much as I loved it in some of the swatches I had seen.
After wearing it for a week? I am sold on Stranger Tides, which is a murky, dusty olive green, and will definitely be acquiring a full-sized bottle.

pirates 5
(Stranger Tides in close-up.)

Planks A Lot was my surprise!second favorite – it’s a lovely, blue-toned periwinkle, and I will also consider buying a larger bottle.
As for Skull & Glossbones… It is a nice gray. That’s really all I have to say about it; it has not been added to my (mental) polish shopping list. Sparrow Me the Drama didn’t do anything for me at all. It’s quite the bubblegum pink, and it just didn’t strike my fancy. Definitely not one that I will invest in, personally.

pirates 1

I did have a few issues with application, but I think that that may have been because of the mini brushes: they were difficult to work with, and three coats was not quite opaque. (This was really only visible in bright lights, however.) I then applied my beloved Sinful Colors topcoat to them. While I did refresh my topcoat on several fingers with my Sally Hansen Complete Care treatment, I don’t think that it made a huge difference in wear.
I mentioned above that I wore this mani for a week, which is my standard practice. I was wowed by how well these colors wore. I had tip-wear and some chipping (mainly on my “dominant”/right hand), but nothing massive. Overall, I was very pleased with this set. OPI for the win!
This week, I am going nail commando, except for Sally Hansen’s Complete Care. Nothing in my stash caught my attention this morning… I am really feeling the pastels lately, and I don’t own many of them. Hmm! Perhaps an excuse for a polish excursion.

~ Nicole

Leave a Reply

