OPI: Ink

May 25, 2011

I purchased ‘Ink’ at Trade Secret while searching for an interesting purple color to wear under the OPI Black Shatter that I do so love. I did not find it in this polish. It is undeniably a nice color, but not at all what I was looking for. In the light of the store, it looked several shades brighter than it does in natural light or in any other indoor lighting. It is slightly glittery (I love glitter), but very, very dark; effectively black in most settings.

Now, I do love me some black nail polish, but when I sign up for a bottle of purple glitter polish, that is what I want to wear! If you’re looking for a deep, moody color, this may be your color. It has just enough visual interest in certain lightings to merit wearing as an alternative to plain black. However, if you are looking for a decidedly dark, but purple nonetheless, shade, look elsewhere. OPI has a myriad of colors and I’m sure you can find a satisfying purple in one line or another. The Burlesque line looks awesome (and glittery)-I’d start there. In retrospect, I probably would not have purchased this color if I’d had the opportunity to see it in alternative lighting, but it’ll probably end up resurfacing this winter when I’m feeling dark or dour or something.

As for application, naturally it went on like butter-it’s OPI! It was though, surprisingly sheer for an OPI after two coats, so I added a third. No big, I love painting my nails. I even smudged one of my nails and after the clear coat you couldn’t even tell. As per the usual I used OPI RapiDry topcoat and two layers of the Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat. This many layers of clear coat is completely unnecessary, but as I may have mentioned before, painting my nails is on par with meditation for me. Also, I like REALLY shiny nails.

Summary: If you’re looking for a dark, almost black, purple, I’d give this color a 4.25 out of 5. It’s pretty, but the movement in the light is…moderately interesting at best. If you are, like I was, looking for an obviously purple polish-2.5/5. I have to love it a little because it’s just so easy to use, but it is not at all what I was looking for.

Leave a Reply

