Ray-Ban Wayfarers

May 28, 2011

It is 55* and raining. The sky is grey, not a beam of blessed sun in sight. I’m on the Max and, despite the conditions, I am wearing my Wayfarers…and I feel like a badass.

Everyone from Audrey Hepburn to the Blues Brothers have worn Wayfarers. They are sleek and simple, classy and somehow androgynous, universally flattering. Even better, Ray-Ban has managed to make these glasses even easier to wear by launching the “New Wayfarer” which are slightly smaller (in the lens and frame departments) than the original, perfect for women who tend to have smaller faces or petite sort of fellows. For guys or chicas with bigger features/wider faces, I would stick with the original design as they balance out larger features well. Honestly, either size of Wayfarer will look good on anyway, it’s just a matter of what you’re comfortable with. I have yet to find a face they don’t look good on and, believe me, my Wayfarers have adorned many a face. It’s nearly impossible to set them down without a friend picking them up and trying them on. Something about the classic design make them hard to resist.

Like several of my favorite things, Ray-Ban Wayfarers are not cheap. If you know what size you want, you might be able to find them on ebay for 90ish dollars, but you’re better off going to the store (I like Sunglasses Hut because they can heat up the material and sort of mold the glasses to better conform to your face) and trying them on yourself. I paid 120$ for mine, but if you do a lot of driving, I’d recommend the polarized variety which are about 160$. You can buy knock-offs elsewhere, but trust me, you will never feel as good in the Wayfarers you bought at Forever 21. Furthermore, the cheapies scratch easily while the “designer” variety is much harder to damage. I let my glasses knock around in my purse and they have never sustained so much as a knick in the…year and a half or so that I’ve had this pair.

As for color, most people go for black. Ray-Ban has a TON of awesome colors and patterns to select from, but I’m personally a fan of the tortoise-shell frames. They are slightly less harsh than black and they still go with everything. There are a pair of matte blue Wayfarers I’ve had my eye on for awhile and, for the artists among us, you can buy glasses with blank frames that come with special markers so you can design your own glasses. Pretty neat!

What makes Wayfarers an icon of style is the wearability. They are simple and classic. Wayfarers will pair with literally any style of dress or accessory. They won’t go out of style in the foreseeable future. Most importantly, they will make you feel like a badass, day or night.

To illustrate my point, I will include all six of the facebook profile pictures that these have appeared in…

Leave a Reply

