Re-Fresh Mint & Mermaid’s Tears

June 6, 2011

Last week I wore OPI’s Mermaid’s Tears.

OPI Mermaid's Tears

Mermaid’s Tears is a dusty teal, and it is quite lovely. I had some application issues – bubbling, etc – but I applied it to my toenails for this week, and it was fine. I think that it was just a bad mani (which is why I did not post it last week!).
So, if Mermaid’s Tears is lovely and in my color family, I am must adore it, right? Sadly, no dice. I will be keeping it, as it coordinates with a lot of my clothing, but it is not currently on my list of favorites. Out of this OPI collection, Stranger Tides remains my preferred shade.
That said, I am liking it even better on my toes than on my fingers!

CG & OPI

This week, I am also wearing China Glaze’s Re-Fresh Mint.
Sarah mentioned, after I showed her Mermaid’s Tears, that it looked like a grown-up relative of Sally Hansen’s Mint Sorbet. Since Re-Fresh Mint and Mint Sorbet looked comparable, I wanted to see Mermaid’s Tears side-by-side with Re-Fresh Mint. The result? I agree! I think that, used together, they could make a stunning mani.
Re-Fresh Mint has a special place in my collection: it was my first non-drugstore polish, and it is one of my favorites. I was going to say that it was a pastel mint green, but in these pictures, that’s not quite right! After looking at my first batch, I was convinced that the color was inaccurate, only to go outside and realize, while taking more pictures, that it actually does have more blue tones in some lights.

Re-Fresh Mint inside:

China Glaze Re-Fresh Mint

Re-Fresh Mint outside:

CG Re-Fresh Mint

And, yes, it is nicked. Blame me – or, better yet, blame finals week!
Both polishes are shown in three coats with a Sinful Colors topcoat.

Leave a Reply

