Sinful Colors: Gorgeous and Green Ocean

June 11, 2011

At the moment I am wearing two colors from the Sinful Colors brand: Gorgeous, a shiny green-leaning teal, and Green Ocean, a green-based flakey polish.

Sinful Colors: Green Ocean

While these polishes are a little too close in color to be terribly striking together, I am fond of this combination! This is one coat of Green Ocean (on every other nail) over three coats of Gorgeous. All nails also have a Sinful Colors topcoat.
Green Ocean can be finicky to apply: the flakeys like to stick up and, especially when multiple coats are used, the finish can be rough. This is a polish that I would not particularly recommend using on bare nails, because the flakeys are suspended in green jelly. The first mani that I did with this polish, I was at university and didn’t have my other colors, so I just slapped in on. The result? Very shiny flakeys on sickly green nails. Oops.

Sinful Colors: Gorgeous

That said, however, this polish gives a nice texture and element of interest to the polish it is on top of. It does flash other colors, including a beautiful blue. Last night I layered it on top of OPI’s Planks a Lot, and was surprised at how well it went with the purple. Unfortunately, I didn’t get pictures.
If you run into Green Ocean, I would recommend picking it up – it’s only $2, and it’s a fun novelty polish to play around with!
As for Gorgeous, what can I say? It’s in my color family, albeit on the green side of it (this is another polish that looks greener in inside light than in outside light), and it is very, very shiny. Sounds like a keeper to me.
And, to finish this up, meet Ellie:

Ellie

Ellie is very helpful when it comes to taking polish pictures!

Leave a Reply

